Nicolae Buzaianu Totally Digs Ralph

I had the good fortune of being at a dinner once in Geneva and to my surprise Ralph Lauren was sitting at the table next to me. At first I was hesitant to speak with him but sure enough I introduced myself “Mr. Lauren, I am Nicolae Buzaianu and a pleasure to meet you.” I thanked him for all of his beautiful designs and I went back to my table. I sent him over a bottle of champagne; I do not want to admit to which one it would only be garish of me.
  
A luxury lifestyle brand like no other, Polo Ralph Lauren tops the men’s fashion brand charts (especially in the USA) in male wear. Ralph Rueben Lifshitz (aka Ralph Lauren) did not attend fashion school, but worked for Brooks Brothers as a salesman in the early sixties. In 1967, with the financial backing of a friend, Lauren opened a necktie store where he also sold ties of his own design, under the label “Polo.” In 1970, Ralph Lauren won the COTY Award for his menswear line. Around that same time he released a line of women’s suit that were tailored in a classic men’s style, which was when the first Polo emblem was seen. It was on the cuff of the women’s suit. Ralph Lauren, released Polo’s famous short sleeve mesh shirt with the Polo logo in 1972. It came out in 24 colors and soon became a classic. He also gained recognition for his design after he was contracted to provide clothing styles for the movie The Great Gatsby. The rest is history.

Today, Ralph Lauren is a US-based sought-out brand preferred by many men for its quality, design and chic, high-end fashion.  In 2009, Ralph Lauren reportedly had a market value of $11 billion. www.ralphlauren.com.

Tagué , , , , , , , ,

Laisser un commentaire

